06 January 2008

Overview: Province of Louisiana

This province is composed of the Archdiocese of New Orleans, the metropolitan, and its suffragan Dioceses of: Alexandria, Baton Rouge, Houma-Thibodaux, Lafayette, Lake Charles, and Shreveport; all in the state of Louisiana.

Archdiocese of New Orleans is led by Archbishop Alfred Clifton Hughes who turned 75 just over a month ago. He also celebrated 50 years as a priest last month. Having reached the normal retirement age, it seems likely that his retirement and subsequent replacement may very well happen later this year. The Archdiocese also has two active Auxilaries: Fabre (44) who has been in place less than a year and Morin (66) who has been serving for 4 years.

Bishop Ronald Paul Herzog (65) is the ordinary of the Diocese of Alexandria. His 3rd anniversary of consecration as a bishop was yesterday.

The Diocese of Baton Rouge is headed by Bishop Robert William Muench who turned 65 just over a week ago. He has been serving in this post for about 6 years. In another year or two he may become a candidate for other posts.

Bishop Sam Gallip Jacobs (69) is leader of the Diocese of Houma-Thibodaux. He has been serving in that role for 4 years.

The Diocese of Lafayette is led by Bishop Charles Michael Jarrell (67). He will celebrate 15 years as a bishop in March. He has been in this post for 5 years.

Bishop Glen John Provost (58) is the head of the Diocese of Lake Charles. He has been in place less than a year.

The Diocese of Shreveport has been vacant for a bit over a year (when Bishop William Benedict Friend retired). This post is very likely to be filled this year.

This province is likely to see a new Archbishop for its metropolitan see and a new bishop for its vacant suffragan this year. Given the current backlog of USA appointments, its entirely possible that the Archdiocese will have to wait until next year for its successor.
Post a Comment