08 January 2008

Overview: Province of Oklahoma and Arkansas

This province is composed of the metropolitan Archdiocese of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma and its two suffragan Dioceses: Little Rock, Arkansas and Tulsa, Oklahoma.

Archbishop Eusebius Joseph Beltran (73) is the ordinary of the Archdiocese of Oklahoma City. He has been serving in this post for about 15 years.

The Diocese of Little Rock, Arkansas is currently vacant. It has been without an ordinary since Bishop James Peter Sartain was named Bishop of Joliet in Illinois in May 2006.

Bishop Edward James Slattery (67) is the leader of the Diocese of Tulsa, Oklahoma. His 14th anniversary of consecration as a bishop was last Sunday.

Obviously the big change anticipated in the province in the coming year is the naming of an ordinary for the Diocese of Little Rock. Currently it is the diocese in the USA that has been sitting vacant for the longest time.

Next year, or perhaps the year after that, will likely see the retirement and replacement of the metropolitan as he reaches the normal retirement age.
Post a Comment