18 February 2008

Overview: Province of Minnesota, North Dakota, and South Dakota

The province is composed of the metropolitan, Archdiocese of Saint Paul and Minneapolis, along with nine suffragan dioceses: Bismarck (North Dakota), Crookston, Duluth, Fargo, New Ulm, Rapid City (South Dakota), Saint Cloud, Sioux Falls (North Dakota), and Winona. All are in Minnesota except where indicated.

Archbishop Harry Joseph Flynn is the ordinary of the Archdiocese of Saint Paul and Minneapolis, Minnesota. He turns 75 (the normal retirement age) in May of this year. Archbishop John Clayton Nienstedt (60) is his Coadjutor and will automatically succeeded upon Archbishop Flynn's retirement. In addition there is an Auxiliary Bishop, Bishop Pates (65).

The Diocese of Bismarck, North Dakota is led by Bishop Paul Albert Zipfel (72). His eleventh anniversary of installation is in two days.

Bishop Michael Joseph Hoeppner (58) is the head of the Diocese of Crookston, Minnesota. He was consecrated a bishop last fall.

The Diocese of Duluth, Minnesota has Bishop Dennis Marion Schnurr (59) as its ordinary. He is approaching the age and years of experience when he may be considered for other posts.

Bishop Samuel Joseph Aquila (57) heads the Diocese of Fargo, North Dakota. He is also at the length of experience and age where he might well be considered for other posts. Although he would be the first ordinary from this diocese to move on.

The Diocese of New Ulm, Minnesota is currently vacant. The last ordinary was then-Bishop Nienstedt who was named Coadjutor Archbishop of Saint Paul and Minneapolis in April of last year.

Bishop Blase Joseph Cupich (58) is the ordinary of the Diocese of Rapid City, South Dakota. He is also at an age and experience that he might well be considered for other posts.

The Diocese of Saint Cloud, Minnesota is led by Bishop John Francis Kinney (70). He celebrated his 45th anniversary of priestly ordination earlier this month.

Bishop Paul Joseph Swain (64) is the head of the Diocese of Sioux Falls, South Dakota. He will celebrate 20 years as a priest later this year.

The Diocese of Winona, Minnesota has as its ordinary Bishop Bernard Joseph Harrington who turns 75 in September of this year.

Overall this province is likely to see a good number of changes to its hierarchy both this year and in the following few years. The likely retirements of Archbishop Flynn and Bishop Harrington top the list. In addition, the Diocese of New Ulm is currently vacant. Beyond that, there are 3 bishops (Schnurr, Aquila, and Cupich) that might be considered for other posts in the next few years.
Post a Comment