03 February 2008

Overview: Province of Missouri

This province consists of the metropolitan, the Archdiocese of Saint Louis, along with its suffragans: Jefferson City, Kansas City-Saint Joseph, and Springfield-Cape Girardeau, all in the state of Missouri.

Archbishop Raymond Leo Burke (59) is the ordinary of the Archdiocese of Saint Louis. He has been in this post just over 4 years. He is assisted by an Auxiliary Bishop (Hermann) who is 73.

The Diocese of Jefferson City is led by Bishop John Raymond Gaydos (64). He has been in place for 10 years. If he were to be considered for another post, it would likely be in the next year or two.

Bishop Robert William Finn (54) has been the head of the Diocese of Kansas City-Saint Joseph for over 2 years.

The Diocese of Springfield-Cape Girardeau received word of its new ordinary about 10 days ago. Bishop-elect James Vann Johnston, Jr. (48) will be consecrated a bishop on the last day of March.

Other than the upcoming ordination just mentioned, there is likely to be no changes in the hierarchy of this province this year.
Post a Comment