28 December 2007

Overview: Province of Iowa

This province is composed of the metropolitan Archdiocese of Dubuque and its 3 suffragan Dioceses: Davenport, Des Moines, and Sioux City; all in the state of Iowa.

Archbishop Jerome George Hanus, O.S.B. (67) has been serving as the ordinary of the Archdiocese of Dubuque for over 12 years. Only one of his predecessors was moved to another diocese (Archbishop Binz in 1961) - and there seems little chance of it happening with Archbishop Hanus.

The Diocese of Davenport is led by Bishop Martin John Amos who turned 66 earlier this month. He has been in his current post a bit over one year.

The Diocese of Des Moines is currently vacant after the resignation earlier this year of Bishop Joseph Leo Charron, C.Pp.S. - he turns 68 this coming Sunday.

Bishop Ralph Walker Nickless (60) has been the ordinary of the Diocese of Sioux City for about 2 years now.

Other than the vacant diocese of Des Moines - this province is not likely to see any changes in the coming year - or for several years to come.
Post a Comment