29 December 2007

Overview: Province of Kansas

The province of Kansas is composed of the metropolitan Archdiocese of Kansas City in Kansas and is 3 suffragan Dioceses: Dodge City, Salina, and Wichita.

This is my home province (I live in the Archdiocese) - but I'll try to be impartial :-)

Archbishop Joseph Fred Naumann (58) has been serving as Archbishop of Kansas City in Kansas for almost 3 years (anniversary is in January). I would not anticipate any change for at least several more years.

The Diocese of Dodge City is led by Bishop Ronald Michael Gilmore (65). In the summer of the coming year he will celebrate 10 years as a bishop.

Bishop Paul Stagg Coakley (52) is the ordinary of the Diocese of Salina. Yesterday was his 3rd anniversary of consecration as a bishop.

The Diocese of Wichita is headed by Bishop Michael Owen Jackels (53). He has been in this post for almost 3 years.

In the last 4 years, every jurisdiction in the province, except 1 (Dodge City) has received a new ordinary. It is unlikely that there will be any hierarchy changes in the coming year - or for the next several.
Post a Comment