24 December 2007

Overview: Province of Ohio

This province consists of the metropolitan Archdiocese of Cincinnati along with its suffragan dioceses, namely: Cleveland, Columbus, Steubenville, Toledo, and Youngstown.

Archbishop Daniel Edward Pilarczyk (73) leads the Archdiocese of Cincinnati, Ohio. He reaches the normal retirement age in August 2009. The only change in the coming year that is at all likely would be the appointment of an Auxiliary or perhaps a Coadjutor.

The Diocese of Cleveland is currently led by Bishop Richard Gerard Lennon (60). He served as a priest and then Auxiliary Bishop of Boston before becoming the ordinary here in 2006. He has two Auxiliary Bishops - the youngest turned 70 this year.

Bishop Frederick Francis Campbell (64) is the ordinary of the Diocese of Columbus. He has been in place about 3 years.

The Diocese of Steubenville is headed by Bishop Robert Daniel Conlon who turned 59 earlier this month. While the diocese has never had an ordinary appointed to another diocese, he might be the first. He might be a candidate for Cincinnati in a couple of years.

Bishop Leonard Paul Blair leads the Diocese of Toledo. He celebrated his 58th birthday early this month also. He has been in this post for a bit over 4 years now. He might also be a candidate for Cincinnati when the time comes.

The Diocese of Youngstown had Bishop George Vance Murry, S.J. as the ordinary. He turns 59 later this week having been in this post since early this year.

Overall this province seems likely to be quite stable for the coming year. However in a few years, there will likely be several adjustments as Archbishop Pilarczyk retires and one or more of the suffragan bishops are named to other positions.
Post a Comment