21 December 2009

Overview: Province of Arizona and New Mexico

The province is composed of the metropolitan, the Archdiocese of Santa Fe, New Mexico, along with its 4 suffragan dioceses: Gallup, Las Cruces, Phoenix, and Tucson. The first two are in New Mexico, the latter two cover the state of Arizona.

Archbishop Michael Jarboe Sheehan (70) is the ordinary of the Archdiocese of Santa Fe. He celebrated 45 years as a priest last summer.

The Diocese of Gallup has Bishop James Sean Wall (45) as its ordinary.

Bishop Ricardo Ramirez, C.S.B. (73) is the first ordinary of the Diocese of Las Cruces. He reaches the normal retirement age in September 2011.

The Diocese of Phoenix is led by Bishop Thomas James Olmsted (62). His age and length of service makes him likely to be considered for other posts.

Bishop Gerald Frederick Kicanas (68) is the head of the Diocese of Tucson. He will celebrate 15 years as a bishop in March.

This province is not likely to see in changes in its hierarchy in the next year. But the year after this will likely see the retirement and replacement of Bishop Ramirez.
Post a Comment