20 December 2009

Overview: Province of Indiana

The province is composed of the metropolitan, the Archdiocese of Indianapolis, and 4 suffragan Dioceses, namely: Evansville, Fort Wayne-South Bend, Gary, and Lafayette; all in Indiana.

Archbishop Daniel Mark Buechlein, O.S.B. (71) is the ordinary of the Archdiocese of Indianapolis. He celebrated 45 years as a priest this year.

The Diocese of Evansville is led by Bishop Gerald Andrew Gettelfinger who reaches 75 next October. His retirement may come in 2010, or perhaps after he celebrates 50 years as a priest in May 2011.

Bishop Kevin Carl Rhoades (52) is due to be installed as the ordinary of the Diocese of Fort Wayne-South Bend in January. He celebrated 5 years as a bishop earlier this month.

The Diocese of Gary is led by Bishop Dale Joseph Melczek (71). He celebrated 45 years as a priest last summer.

Bishop William Leo Higi (76) is the head of the Diocese of Lafayette in Indiana. This past year he celebrated both 50 years as a priest and 25 years as a bishop. He will likely retire and have his replacement named in the coming year.

The province has seen one new face recently arrive and will likely see every other ordinary replaced in the next 5 years as each in turn reaches the retirement age.
Post a Comment