20 December 2009

Overview: Province of Iowa

This province is composed of the metropolitan Archdiocese of Dubuque and its 3 suffragan Dioceses: Davenport, Des Moines, and Sioux City; all in the state of Iowa.

Archbishop Jerome George Hanus, O.S.B. (69) has been serving as the ordinary of the Archdiocese of Dubuque since 1995. Only one of his predecessors was moved to another diocese (Archbishop Binz in 1961) - and there seems little chance of it happening with Archbishop Hanus.

The Diocese of Davenport is led by Bishop Martin John Amos who turned 68 earlier this month. He has been in his current post a bit over three years.

Bishop Richard Edmund Pates (66) is the ordinary of the Diocese of Des Moines.

Bishop Ralph Walker Nickless (62) has been the ordinary of the Diocese of Sioux City for about 4 years now.

This province is likely to be one of the most stable in the coming years.
Post a Comment