20 December 2009

Overview: Province of S California

This province is composed of the Archdiocese of Los Angeles (the metropolitan) and its five suffragan Dioceses: Fresno, Monterey, Orange, San Bernardino, and San Diego; all in the state of California.

The Archdiocese of Los Angeles is led by Roger Michael Cardinal Mahony (73). There are currently 6 active auxiliaries for the Archdiocese: Bishop Edward William Clark (63); Bishop Thomas John Curry (66); Bishop Alexander Salazar (60); Bishop Oscar Azarcon Solis (56); Bishop Gerald Eugene Wilkerson (70); and Bishop Gabino Zavala (58). Of those, Bishops Clark, Salazar, and Zavala seem the most likely to be considered for other posts in the next year or two.

Bishop John Thomas Steinbock (72) is the ordinary of the Diocese of Fresno. This year he celebrated 25 years as a bishop.

The Diocese of Monterey in California is headed by Bishop Richard John Garcia (62).

Bishop Tod David Brown (73) is the Bishop of Orange in California. He celebrated his 20 anniversary of being consecrated a bishop last April.

The diocese also has two auxiliary bishops: Bishop Cirilo Flores (61) and Bishop Bishop Dominic Mai Luong who turned 69 today.

The Diocese of San Bernardino has as its ordinary Bishop Gerald Richard Barnes (64). The diocese also has an auxiliary bishop: Bishop Rutilio Del Riego Jáñez (69). He will celebrate 45 years as a priest next year.

Bishop Robert Henry Brom (71) is the leader of the Diocese of San Diego.

Overall, this province is not likely to see any changes to the hierarchy in the coming year or two. But within the next 5 years, you will have the metropolitan and 3 of the 5 suffragan bishops reach the retirement age.

That will be quite a change for a province that has only seen one new ordinary in the last decade.
Post a Comment