20 December 2009

Overview: Province of Colorado and Wyoming

This province consists of the metropolitan Archdiocese of Denver, Colorado along with its suffragans, namely: Cheyenne, Wyoming; Colorado Springs, and Pueblo, Colorado.

Archbishop Charles Joseph Chaput, O.F.M. Cap. (65) has been the ordinary for over 12 years. If there was to be a "surprize" USA cardinal created next year, he would be my first guess.

The Archdiocese also has an auxiliary bishop, Bishop James Douglas Conley (54).

The Diocese of Cheyenne, Wyoming is now led by Bishop Paul Dennis Etienne (50). He was consecrated a bishop earlier this month.

Bishop Michael John Sheridan (64) is the head of the Diocese of Colorado Springs. He served as a priest and auxiliary bishop in St. Louis, Missouri before coming here in 2001. He is at an age and length of service where he could easily be considered for other posts.

The Diocese of Pueblo, Colorado now has Bishop Fernando Isern as its ordinary. He was also consecrated a bishop earlier this month.

With the province's two new ordinaries, it could be stable for a while. Although Bishop Sheridan and Archbishop Chaput might go the way of Bishop Ricken and be transferred.
Post a Comment