20 December 2009

Overview: Province of Louisiana

This province is composed of the Archdiocese of New Orleans, the metropolitan, and its suffragan Dioceses of: Alexandria, Baton Rouge, Houma-Thibodaux, Lafayette, Lake Charles, and Shreveport; all in the state of Louisiana.

Archdiocese of New Orleans is led by Archbishop Gregory Michael Aymond (60). Next May he will celebrate 35 years as a priest.

The archdiocese also has an active auxiliary bishop: Bishop Shelton Joseph Fabre (46).

Bishop Ronald Paul Herzog (67) is the ordinary of the Diocese of Alexandria. His 5th anniversary of consecration as a bishop is in January.

The Diocese of Baton Rouge is headed by Bishop Robert William Muench who turns 67 next week. He is at an age and length of service that makes him more likely to be considered for other appointments.

Bishop Sam Gallip Jacobs (71) is leader of the Diocese of Houma-Thibodaux. Last summer he celebrated 20 years as a bishop.

The Diocese of Lafayette is led by Bishop Charles Michael Jarrell (69).

Bishop Glen John Provost (60) is the head of the Diocese of Lake Charles. He will celebrate 35 years as a priest next June.

The Diocese of Shreveport is led by Bishop Michael Gerard Duca (57).

This province is likely to be quite stable for the next year or so. Only one of the group (Bishop Muench) is at an age and length of service that makes him a likely candidate for other posts.
Post a Comment