21 December 2009

Overview: Province of Missouri

This province consists of the metropolitan, the Archdiocese of Saint Louis, along with its suffragans: Jefferson City, Kansas City-Saint Joseph, and Springfield-Cape Girardeau, all in the state of Missouri.

Archbishop Robert James Carlson (65) is the ordinary of the Archdiocese of Saint Louis. He will celebrate 40 years as a priest in May.

The archdiocese also has Bishop Robert Joseph Hermann (75) as an auxiliary bishop. His retirement is likely to be accepted in the next year.

The Diocese of Jefferson City is led by Bishop John Raymond Gaydos (66). If he were to be considered for another post, which would be a first for this diocese, it would likely be in the next year or two.

Bishop Robert William Finn (56) is the head of the Diocese of Kansas City-Saint Joseph. He celebrated 5 years as a bishop and 30 as a priest earlier this year.

Bishop James Vann Johnston, Jr. (50) is the head of the Diocese of Springfield-Cape Girardeau.

While none of the ordinaries of this province are likely to change in the next year or two, St. Louis is likely to see the retirement of its auxiliary and the naming of one or more replacements.
Post a Comment