21 December 2009

Overview: Province of Oklahoma and Arkansas

This province is composed of the metropolitan Archdiocese of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma and its two suffragan Dioceses: Little Rock, Arkansas and Tulsa, Oklahoma.

Archbishop Eusebius Joseph Beltran (75) is the ordinary of the Archdiocese of Oklahoma City. He will celebrate 50 years as a priest in May. Since he has reached the normal retirement age, it is likely that his retirement and the naming of his replacement will occur in the coming year.

The Diocese of Little Rock, Arkansas is led by Bishop Anthony Basil Taylor (55). He will celebrate 30 years as a priest in August.

Bishop Edward James Slattery (69) is the leader of the Diocese of Tulsa, Oklahoma.

Obviously the big change anticipated in the province in the coming year is the naming of a new ordinary for the Archdiocese of Oklahoma City. No other change is likely in that time frame.
Post a Comment